top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShelby Hettler

New Year, Same Me (but with a blog)

Dear Reader,


Because of the new year and its connotations, I’ve been thinking a lot about resolutions. While I don’t think self-improvement is inherently bad at all, I think a lot of resolutions come from a place of shame. We identify ourselves with the “bad” qualities and thereby cling to the idea of “new year, new me.” I’m not referring to such qualities as being hateful or harming other beings, but rather those that are based upon societal norms and standards. What if there were less resolutions to lose weight or to read canonical texts simply because of their societal value and more resolutions to work on self-confidence? Rather than reaching for some vague idea of a new self that seems to be accompanied by happiness, what if we sought acceptance and happiness within our current states?


I, thus, did not exactly make a resolution this year; however, I did decide to take advantage of this artificial beginning to do something that fear has held me back from: putting content that I create out into the world in the form of YouTube, writing, and photography. And that, my dear reader, is how this blog came into being. Once I decided to create this blog, I wondered how I could make it my own. Of course no two perspectives are exactly the same, but I still wanted to figure how could I format this blog in a way that reflects who I am in more than just the perspective itself? I journaled (a lot) and came to realize that throughout my life, I have always been a storyteller. I love stories, told both literally and abstractly, because I believe in their power to evoke empathy. Through casual encounters, the written word, photography, dance, spoken word poetry, and film, I have found that I am happiest and most myself when I am a telling and listening to stories. This blog will inevitably include the student experience, culture, fashion, sustainability, vegan food, and queer scenes; however, I also plan to consistently take the time to get to know people enough to listen to and record their stories in these spaces.


So, I implore you to join me on this journey in Copenhagen. Come along, ready to open your mind and heart to all of the adventures and stories that will come our way.


With Love,

Shelby



88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page