top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShelby Hettler

So Long California

Reader,

Today’s the day. It is 11am in California and in 7 hours I will be leaving for my semester abroad. During the past few weeks so many people have asked me about my semester in Copenhagen. I gave them pretty standard answers about being excited and listing off the classes I’m registered for, but up until now, the feelings about it haven’t sunk in. It felt like the same distant fantasy of study abroad I had when I first started looking at programs. But when I woke up this morning, it all felt real. I felt the first nerves about adjusting to a new place with new people and missing my mom; however, I also felt the deepest excitement I have yet.


As this final night approached, I worked my way through a list of places I wanted to go, things I wanted to do, and people I wanted to see. After driving up to Big Bear to see the snow, walking along the California coast, digging through clothes at the Melrose Flea Market, and making dinners to share with my mom, I definitely feel as though I have accomplished what the list intended. While I want to go into this program with an open mind and few expectations, I was trying to think of something or a few things that would help me have the most fulfilling experience while abroad.


The mindset I’m trying to maintain is balance. One of the reasons I want to study abroad is because I believe travel and experience can be really beneficial aspects of education. Even though I will be in Copenhagen taking classes, I want to make sure that I take advantage of the location and new experiences. On the other hand, I also do not want to totally neglect the “study” part of study abroad. I’m hoping to reconcile these by accepting imperfections, staying organized, and finding cool locations around Copenhagen to do homework. Luckily, I am so excited about each course that I am taking. I was planning on only taking 4 courses, but I still cannot choose one that I am willing to part with. Hopefully the first week of classes will help me decide!


I think balance can apply to so many other aspects of this trip (and I guess life) too. I want to create art inspired by my experiences, but not focus so much on it that I miss out. I want to take advantage of the location by traveling to neighboring countries, but also want to immerse myself in Copenhagen. I want to go out of my comfort zone, but practice self-care; make friends and be independent, plan and go on spontaneous adventures…I could keep going, but I think you get the picture.


After much debate between my mom, a serial over packer, and me, an aspiring minimalist, my bags are finally packed. Though, I did take just a few things out after she left (sorry mom). So, I think it’s time to sign off, but I hope you join me in this next journey.


Love,

Shelby


ps here are some fun memories from home!



Katie & I at the beach! We made a full bohemian rhapsody car karaoke on the way home (coming soon!)

I always wake up with my eye swollen shut at least once when I'm home (I think I'm allergic to California...or my dogs?)


Mom and I on Christmas!



Photo show with Mara, Rachel, Katie, and some new friends!

112 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page